Duke of Ed Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award is a non-competitive, flexible program for all young people, whatever their background or ability. The Award expands personal horizons and explores potential talents and interests. The Award is run in 126 countries around the world and so far 6 million young people have completed their Award. The International Award is the generic title, but each National Award Authority (NAA) can choose its own title, for example the El-Hassan Youth Award in Jordan, The Presidents Award in Ireland and the Hong Kong Award for Young People.

The Award is for young people aged 14-25 years and comprises three levels Bronze, Silver and Gold.

For all levels the participant must fulfil the requirements of each of 4 sections:

  • Physical Recreation - encouraging improvement and fitness
  • Skill Development – developing cultural, vocational and practical skills
  • Volunteering – developing a sense of community responsibility
  • Adventurous Journey - cultivating a spirit of adventure and an understanding of the environment
  • For Gold Award, a Residential Project broadens horizons through a worthwhile experience

Activities in the four sections are intended to provide a balanced program reflecting different aspects of a young person’s development.

Participants choose their own activities for each of the sections and work to improve their knowledge, skills and performances. They need to work with an adult assessor who can discuss progress and sign off their completion.

The award is a personal challenge and not a competition against others. Each participant’s program is tailor-made to reflect the individual’s abilities and interests.

The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award is widely recognised by employers and education providers so it can be added to a students resume or school leavers statement. It is also accredited by the SACE board as units towards community learning.

For more information please download this information sheet.
Or email Daniel Polkinghorne or James Burrows.